

March 3, 2020 Election Voting Guide SAN DIEGO COUNTY

UA #230 Endorsements:

O 1 - I	1 _ [
	ГО	= 611		•
Ota	1 C	- 2411	<i>l</i> leasure	3

Proposition 13: School and College Facilities Bond **VOTE YES!**

County Ballot Measures

Measure A: Safeguard Our San Diego Countryside VOTE NO!

Measure B: Newland Sierra Project – no PLA Vote NO!

City Ballot Measures

(San Diego) Measure C: Hotel Visitor Tax Increase for Convention VOTE YES! KEY CAMPAIGN!

Center Expansion, Homelessness Programs, Street Repairs

(Chula Vista) Measure E: Protects Chula Vista Infrastructure VOTE YES! KEY CAMPAIGN!

Funding and Repeals the PLA Ban

Federal Endorsements

49th **Congressional District** Mike Levin

50th **Congressional District** Ammar Campa-Najjar

51st Congressional District Juan Vargas

State Endorsements

State Senate 39 th District	Toni Atkins
State Assembly 56th District	Eduardo Garcia
State Assembly 76th District	Tasha Boerner-Horvath KEY CAMPAIGN!
State Assembly 77 th District	Brian Maienschein
State Assembly 78 th District	Chris Ward KEY CAMPAIGN!
State Assembly 79 th District	Shirley Weber
State Assembly 80 th District	Lorena Gonzalez-Fletcher

San Diego County Endorsements	
San Diego County Board of Supervisors District 1	Ben Hueso
San Diego County Board of Supervisors District 3	Olga Diaz KEY CAMPAIGN!
[Rated Unacceptable – do NOT vote for Kristin Gaspar!]	
County Board of Education, 1st District	Gregg Robinson
County Board of Education, 2 nd District	Guadalupe Gonzalez
Grossmont-Cuyamaca College Board, Area 3	Julie Schorr
Grossmont-Cuyamaca College Board, Area 4	Elena Adams
Palomar Community College	Nina Deerfield
San Diego Community College, District B	Bernie Rhinerson
San Diego Community College, District D	Mary Graham
San Diego Unified School District, District A	Sabrina Bazzo
San Diego Unified School District, District E	Sharon Whitehurst-Payne
Carlsbad City Council District 1 – Special Election	Cori Schumacher KEY CAMPAIGN!
Chula Vista City Council District 3	Steve Padilla
San Diego Mayor	Todd Gloria
San Diego City Attorney	Mara Elliott
San Diego City Council, District 3	Stephen Whitburn
San Diego City Council, District 5	Marni Von Wilpert
Superior Court Judge, Office No. 18	Roberta Winston
Superior Court Judge, Office No. 22	Alana Robinson
Superior Court Judge, Office No. 30	Tim Nader
Superior Court Judge, Office No. 36 ***Daughter of a UA Local #38 Retiree	Michelle Ialeggio KEY CAMPAIGN!

We arrived at these endorsements through a rigorous and democratic process whereby UA #230 Political Education Committee members participated at the local level through interviews, the San Diego County Building & Construction Trades Council and/or the San Diego & Imperial Counties Labor Council endorsement processes as well as at the state level through the California State Building Trades Council and/or the California Labor Federation. These processes included research on candidates and ballot measures, interviews of candidates and issues advocates, and votes by delegate and executive board bodies to determine whether a candidate or ballot measure should receive a labor endorsement.

Candidates must demonstrate that they support the values and work of UA 230, labor unions and our members. Our Union endorsed these candidates and initiatives, and we need you to vote for them.

If there is a race or issue that is not on this card, but is on your ballot, it means candidates or advocates for the issue did not seek or receive an endorsement from the San Diego Building Trades Council and/or the San Diego & Imperial Counties Labor Council or that of our UA 230 Political Education Committee.

Election Day is Tuesday, March 3, 2020.

If you recently moved, changed your name, or want to change your political party, you need to re-register to vote. You should be registered to vote at least 15 days before an election. You can register to vote online at http://registertovote.ca.gov/

Questions? Contact UA 230 Organizer Bernadette Butkiewicz at bernadette@ualocal230.org | 619-881-7186